Dream Story: This is Not Heartbreak Hotel

(This fan fiction story is written on June 14th 2013 and it’s based on dream experienced on the same date)

What a beautiful town, I talk to myself.

My mom and I go abroad. I really don’t know about the country we visit, but the view is so gorgeous. We go to malls, have unique lunch, and visit a lot of historical places. Then, at 4.30 pm, we head to the hotel.

After we book a room, we go up by lift. I ask my mom the number of our room, then she shows me the key. 330. That’s quite nice, I think. We reach 3rd floor, and we step out of the lift. And… I feel… speechless. Wow! It’s so… amazing! The decoration, the furniture, everything! OMJ! How can we stay in this such luxurious hotel? Nahh… keep going. This chance possibly won’t happen again. Just enjoy it while you can.

I keep walking and looking for the room number. 340, 339, 338, 337. Then I walk in front of room 336. Suddenly… zap! I stop in front of that room. I don’t know, I feel like… something strange comes from that room. I feel a powerful energy coming from it. I wanna reach it to find out, but my mom keeps walking. So I just leave it and run after her.

We put our belongings, and I directly take a shower. I keep thinking about that room. What’s inside? Who’s inside? I keep thinking until I forget that I’m taking a shower. I wash my body quickly, and then go out. After that, it’s my mom’s turn to take a shower. I quickly dress up and go outside, looking for room 336. And…

It’s open! I directly run to its door, and hear voices from inside. I hear two people talking to each other. One sounds in a hurry, and the other sounds very gentle. Wait. That voice is so familiar. I try to sneak, but then someone goes out of the room. Surprised, I suddenly run to my room and close the door. God… that’s so close. My mom suddenly asks me what happens, but I say nothing.

At 7 pm, I watch TV while having some meals. My mom stands in front of the mirror with her dress.

“Wow… nice dress. You’re going somewhere?”
“Yes. I wanna meet my friend,” She powders her face.
“She lives here?”
“Yes. And I promise to meet her tonight. You wanna join?”
“Is it far?” I retort.
“Emm… maybe… around 20 minutes from here,” She counts with her fingers.
“Hmm… And friend… I bet you’ll be with her for a very long time… right?”
“Yes. Hehe,” She gives peace sign to me.
“I guess I just stay here. I’m so exhausted, and I feel like I wanna sleep earlier. I’m sorry, Mom”
“That’s okay, darling. Okay then. See you soon. Take care. Just lock the door when you sleep”
“Alright. See you. Be careful, Mom! Or we won’t back home completely”

I continue watching TV. Then I see a leaflet on the table. It’s a restaurant menu. Wait. What is this that I see? The dinner is served at 7 pm? I must go downstairs! I quickly wear my decent cloth, turn off the TV, and lock the door. Then I see room 336 is open, again. Okay. I must see it this time. I walk slowly and slowly until I reach the door. I walk across the door again. Then I peek to see what’s inside. It’s a beautiful room, but I see no one, even though there are voices from there. Wait. There’s someone. And… uh-oh. I quickly run and enter the lift. Another close call.

After I finish my dream-come-true dinner, I go back upstairs, heading to my room. Room 336 is closed. Man, I can’t see what’s inside. I just go across it, and open my room’s door. Suddenly that room is opened, and someone goes out. Now I can see who goes out. But… wait a second…

“Annie?!”
“M… Michael?!!”

He runs into his room. I directly lock my room’s door back, and then run, enter his room. There is Michael Jackson, with his white shirt, black trouser, and black socks, standing beside the mirror in his beautiful and fragrant room, staring at me with his almost-closed eyes and messy hair.

“M… Michael? What are you… doing… in here?” I stammer.
“A… Annie… How can you… be… here?” He asks me back, blushing.

I close the door to give us a kind of privacy.

“I’m… having a vacation with my mom. She’s at the town right now, meet her friend. So I’m alone here. And now, your turn. What are you doing here? I mean… I don’t see you in TV for about 7 months. What happened to you?”
“Annie… I… I…” He looks very tired, and suddenly falls down.
“Michael!!!” I run to him and hold him from falling down.

His face is so pale and his eyes are almost closed. I lead him to the bed and lay him down. I draw the chair near the wardrobe, put it beside the bed, and sit on it. I must get the clarification about this.

“Michael… what is actually happening to you? You look so exhausted right now. Your eyes, your face, your hair. What happened? Tell me, Michael. Just tell me. I won’t tell anyone, I promise. You know me, right?” I ask him gently.
“Annie… I don’t know where to start…” He speaks unclearly.
“Michael… Just tell me anyway… Please…” I have to convince him this time.
“Well… I actually… emm… I’m having a problem. Like, you know… media write their stories, again. And… one of those stories make some people really mad at me. And… and… they’re… trying to attack me, to defame me, to denounce me, to… to…”
“To…? To what, Michael? To what?” I ask a bit emotionally.
“To… to… to kill me,” He slurs.

Oh my God. I directly freeze. Suddenly he holds my hand. It feels like his hand melts the entire ice in my heart.

“Annie… what should I do? I’ve been here for a week, and I really wanna go out. But if I go outside with no disguises, new headlines will spread, and they’ll quickly find me. If I go with disguises, I will hardly breathe. I… I… I’m tired, Annie. I’m tired of being judged like this. I don’t have any idea…” He speaks slurring.

I really don’t know what to say. This is not the usual Michael. I really must help him. I slowly take a deep breath.

“Michael… I’m… I’m very sorry about that. I mean… It’s just… I couldn’t believe what happened to you right now, when I’m not with you. I’m… I’m sorry… that I leave you this way. I mean… I’m so sorry that I’m not around when you need me. As you can see, I’m very busy. I have to go here, I have to go there. But in those busy times, I never forget to think about you. Like, “Where are you now?” “What are you doing now?” “Is there any problem with you?” Those words never get away from my mind…” I take another deep breath “Michael… I can’t help it… to see you hurt… like this…” I start to cry.

Michael moves his hand to wipe my tear. Oh… that soft hand…

Michael Jackson Toons 3

Just a drawing to depict our relationship in this story, hehe

“Shhh… don’t cry. It’s not your fault for not being around. I understand. You have your business to attend to. So am I. Don’t worry. My friends are helping me for my recovery. But… your presence is the best medicine, ever,” He smiles at me with his weak eyes.
“Oh… Michael… I’m so happy to see you smiling like this. I’m so glad that my presence is very worthwhile for you. I… I…”
“Thank you… my Love”

He takes my hands and kisses them. Oh… that softest kiss is always Michael’s. Then he holds my hand tighter.

“Michael?”
“Yes, Annie?”
“Emm… I’m sorry, but… I need to go to restroom”
“Oh… okay. You can use mine”

I go to the restroom in his room. Wow… It’s so clean and smells very nice. I even can’t believe how clean it is. It’s even cleaner than the one in my room. But it’s little bit messed up. So I tidy it up. I go back to him, and look around the room. Man, it’s really messed up. The table, the wardrobe, even the bed. I must tidy up his room. Michael tells me that I don’t have to, but I can’t. I must help him. So he just let me tidy up his room.

The first one is wardrobe. I open it, but suddenly all Michael’s clothes fall down and bury me. I put out my head, and Michael just laughs. I laugh back and tidy up his clothes. Done. Now, table. Oh my … it’s full of make ups, meals, and accessories. I pick a perfume and smell it. Oh… the smell is very nice. It’s the smell of nature, fresh nature. I smell it again. Michael says it’s his favorite perfume, and he allows me to use it. I dab a bit, and suddenly that fresh scent spreads all over my clothes. I put it back, and tidy up the table. Finish. About the bed, maybe I don’t need to, because right now he’s on the bed. So I just pull the blanket and cover him with it. Then I sit back beside him. It’s like he’s calling me with his expression.

“Annie…?”
“Yes…?”

My face is getting closer to his blushing face. Closer… closer…

“Emm… Michael?”
“Yes?” His breath is so warm.
“Umm… I… I…”

He smiles at me and touches my cheek. I hold his hand and smile back. I can feel his heartbeat through his hand. Then, he closes his eyes slowly and slowly. I call him, but he answers without any voice. Then, his eyes are fully closed. He falls asleep. I still hold his hand, and still can feel his heartbeat. I put his hand on the blanket, and tidy up his hair. It’s very close for me to… wait. It’s already 11 pm? Whoa! I must get back to my room. Actually I really wanna look after him until he wakes up. But if my mom goes back here and finds out that I’m not in my room… she’ll be very upset. So I decide to return to my room. “I’m very sorry, Michael. I must get back to my room”

I turn off the lights and turn on the bedside lamp. I go outside, and close the door slowly and quietly.

“Good night, Michael. Sorry that I can’t be there for you tonight. Have a nice sleep and dream. See you tomorrow. I Love you”

I get into my room. I brush my teeth and put on a little make up. I still can smell Michael’s perfume on my clothes, so I decide not to change. I climb the bed, pull the blanket, and sleep, in peace.

“Good night, Michael, my Love. I Love you more… always”

By: Ayu Anisa Budiarti