An Interview: Agni

1450399099479How’s your early journey in music career:
Since I was in kindergarten, I already love to play guitar. And in third grade in elementary school, I went to guitar and vocal course. Then I followed regional competitions, and the peak was in 2008 when I followed Idola Cilik 2

What is your opinion about today’s music development?
Right now, many new bands and new talents coming up, and it colors Indonesian music industries. For me, what’s searched in today’s music is from its easy-listening aspect and easy to remember

What kind of song that’s worth considered great according to your thought?
The great song is that the song has its own ‘characteristic’. I mean, the listener will always remember all the time if the song has that special characteristic, like the interlude, and so on. What’s sure is that a great song doesn’t come from ordinary song which is easy to be listened that last once after the song finishes

How many song have you wrote?
I already wrote 9-10 songs, still very few. Besides, those are songs I usually use for competitions, so the theme of the song is Indonesia

What do you think music is?
Music is simple for me. Our life has its own music, because it’s music that can refresh and improve our right brain. For me, it’s clear that music is very important, because it makes me feel sensitive about the environment

How do you separate your time between school and music?
Right now, I’m not focusing myself so much in music, because I focus more on education. I still have time for music, but only in-between. If I have leisure time, I’ll take my guitar, trying to write song. Or I go to my course teacher’s house even though I don’t study in that course anymore

What kind of music do you like?
For kinds of music, I like all kinds of music because for me, each genre brings different color. But for now on, I’m still into pop music

Who’s your motivator musician?
The main motivator for me to write song is Yovie and… I really love their songs

What is achievement for you?
Achievement is something positive that can make people around us feel proud. It’s the highest accomplishment on something

Who are the people who contribute so much in your music career?
My parents and my family; they are the people who always support me. There’s also my music course teacher, and also one teacher in my elementary school who pushed me to follow Idola Cilik 2

What is your hope for Indonesian music industries?
I hope they can find new talents that really explore themselves deeply. Don’t just get famous in a short time and then fall down, because it’s not a true musician. For me, what we need is clever and qualified talents; those who can think out of the box and get out of their comfort zone

What comes into your mind when you heard a slogan “Push yourself to the limit?”
Push yourself to the limit. I can say that, if we have passion, we must know where our passion lies on. We must explore it as best as we can until we can reach the peak, because it’s our appreciation to the God who has given us such talents, and I’m sure that it has a good meaning. Be tireless, don’t give up easily, and try to the best!

By: Clevaria Ery Swandari