When I was in Senior High School, my friends and I decided to go to Merbabu Mountain on April 17th  2015. I was so happy about it because this would be the first time for me to go there and climbed to the top of the mountain.  There were 30 people that also climbed there.  When the day came, I was always ready to do it.  Before we started to go, my friends and I took a photo together.  At 2 PM  we went there by bus.  At 4 PM we arrived there and went to 1st base camp of Merbabu Mountain.  After that, we ate together while playing cards to prepare ourselves.  Some of my friends were sleeping and the others were smoking because when we were climbing, we were not allowed to smoke.  At 6 PM we started to climb. Before we did it, we prayed together. And then we climbed through the long journey.

I was so frightened because the road was so far and so difficult that it made me feel so tired.  But my friends always helped me. There were many tracks to walk until the top.  But we chose to go through the cuntel tracks. On cuntel tracks, there were four posts. We could take a rest before we arrived on the top of the mountain.

We arrived at the first post in about one hour. I was so thirsty and hungry, then I drank the water that my friend brought. We took a rest around 5 minutes and continued the journey again. The weather was cold. I searched the salonpas, then I put on my nose to make my nose feel warm.

I felt afraid when I arrived in the place people usually called “Devil’s Bridge”. The road was very narrow. You could see the ravine around it. You would smell the scent of Magnesium. It smelt disgusting because it was like when the people fart. Apparently, we arrived at the third post.  It was the time to eat and smoke together. We were so hungry so we ate many foods.  Not only that. We also spent so many cigars because it was so cold. Even though I wore thick jacket, but I still felt so cold.  We then built a camp, and then we slept at around 11 PM. At 2 AM, we continued the journey again to reach the top of the mountain. At 5 AM. we finally arrived on the top and we could see the sunrise. It was so beautiful. We took many photos and did selfie or even groufie.

IMG_7483

This is us! Can you find where am I?

So, we had gone through the journey for about 11 hours. We were so happy because everyone who climbed with me were all arrived successfully.

Based on this adventure, I remember a quotes from the football club, Liverpool FC.

We will never walk alone

This is the spirit that drive our spirit to the peak.I know that if we dare to do something, the nature will support us.

By: Charlees Rachma Dewangga Pasopati