Climbing a mountain is the one of my many hobbies. I knew about climbing a mountain when I was in seminary, and I joined with Semertapala. One of my favorite experiences about climbing a mountain was in my 19th birthday, because I celebrated my birthday on the top of Ungaran Mountain on 7 July 2015. Yes, before I decided to go to Jogjakarta and studying in Sanata Dharma University, I told my friend Dimas Arya, the best climber I was close to, that I wanted to celebrate my birthday on the top of the mountain. Dimas agreed to accompany me climbing the mountain. And we chose Ungaran Mountain to be climbed.

On the first plan, Dimas and I got confused, because we had to get a resting place in Semarang after we climbed that mountain. After I thought hardly, I had an idea to contact Mario, the most handsome man in our force, who lives in Semarang. And he agreed to join us to climb the mountain together. Dimas also invited Pandhu, our juniors in Seminary to join us. Ya, and we gathered together on 6 July 2015 in Alfamart of Sukun region. We started our trip at 8 p.m. to Ungaran. We arrived at the base camp of Ungaran City on around 9 p.m., and we directly started our trip to reach the Peak of Ungaran Mountain.

Maybe it was a long trip, because all of us enjoyed the view of Semarang City and the view of the sky. There were a lot of stars when we looked at the sky, and there were a lot of city lights, and it was so beautiful. Why did I choose to celebrate on the peak of the mountain? Because getting sunrise as my birthday’s gift was very amazing. Maybe it was an imagination that I couldn’t reach. But, I could, and it was so amazing for me. We arrived near the peak at 11 p.m. and we decided to rest, cooked noodles, and boiled the water. But there were some problems when we tried to set up our hood. Dimas forgot to bring the poles for the hood. So we decided to rest without a perfect hood, just use that hood to be our blanket. I couldn’t sleep tight because the air was very cold. We woke up at 4 a.m. and continued our trip to reach the Peak of Ungaran Mountain. We reached the peak on around 5.30 a.m., and we were waiting for the sunrise until 6 a.m. Wow! That was so amazing for me, and that was the best gift given to me from Him. I felt so grateful to God for His goodness given to me.

14506147780611450614783810

By: Marcellino Julius Putra